Books and more books

I found this survey on one of my favorite blogs: A moon, worn as if it had been a shell, by Elizabeth Aquino. She got it from Maggie May who found it on Lindsey’s site who found it on Katie Noah Gibson’s blog (another one I read!) and so on, back to Jamie, only 27, how can that be, who originated the survey. What a wonderful circle of readers and women. (No time for edits; this is going up and I’m off to the airport — with books, of course.)

Author you’ve read the most books from (the grammar nerd in me has to say:from whom you have read the most books): John Irving, Madeleine L’Engle, C.S. Lewis, Edward Eager, Robert Farrar Capon, Annie Dillard

Best Sequel Ever: I don’t read many series, but after reading The Hunger Games, was eager to see what came next. But Mockingjay was worthy of the trilogy.

Currently Reading: Nothing to be Frightened Of by Julian Barnes

Drink of Choice While Reading: Coffee, but only before mid-afternoon.

E-reader or Physical Book? Physical books..

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: Holden Caulfield. (Really?)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: I read Steppenwolf for a class in college. I think I was the only one who finished it. I would hate to think I’d miss the music of the spheres.

Hidden Gem Book: Incendiary by Chris Cleve. Who knew a book about Osama bin Laden could be so powerful.

Important Moment in your Reading Life: 1.) Pulling books from my parent’s bookshelves to read in 8th and 9th grades: Joyce’s Portrait, Lawrence’s Sons and Lovers. These turned me into a book-lover for life (as well as a dedicated Anglophile.) 2.) Ian Ousby’s Modern British Lit class at the University of Maryland. First, who could not appreciate Dr. Ousby, with his English accent, elbow patches and pipe? Reading Joyce’s Ulysses with the class brought it to life. I’d never have been able to tackle it on my own. That, plus Lawrence, Eliot and Yeats – this class was my idea of heaven on earth. I haven’t read Joyce and Lawrence lately, but Eliot is one I return to time and again.

Just Finished: Dancer by Colum McCann

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Romance novels

Longest Book You’ve Read: Probably Les Miserables or Anna Karenina

Major book hangover because of: Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante

Number of Bookcases You Own: Six

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Preferred Place To Read: In airports and on planes. But in my daily life, in the den. In my past life, in the bath.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: “We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret.  Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, I survived.” (Little Bee by Chris Cleve)

Reading Regret: That I didn’t love Anna Karenina as Vivian hoped I would; and that I never got far in Meg’s recommendation, Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace. May try those two again one day.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series): I can’t think of one; I don’t read many series.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: Let the Whole World Spin by Colum McCann,  Run by Ann Patchett. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Chris Cleve

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others: Just looked at Amazon for spelling of Ann Patchett and saw that she has a new release Nov. 5, 2013. Can’t wait.

Worst Bookish Habit: Buying more books than I can read.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: In the living room: The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides; in the den: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch, brother of high school friend Tammy.

Your latest book purchase: Just got the latest Indiespensables shipment from Powell’s bookstore: The Childhood of Jesus by J.M. Coetzee. Indiespensables is an expensive but oh so much fun book club: http://www.powells.com/indiespensable/

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): Rick Steves’ Spain 2013.

Category that should have been included in this survey — best book from film: Remains of the Day (or A Room with a View or Dr. Zhivago?)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books and more books

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Thank you for commenting on my blog today, which led me to yours and to here, and we have so many of the same literary likes (and dislikes!). I hope you write somewhere else — I’d love to read more!

  2. Elizabeth, as you can see from this post, I discovered your blog long ago and have loved your writing from afar. I’ll pick up blogging again one day, I hope, but for now am writing (about aging, death, my mom, my in-laws) for an MFA at Spalding and writing grants for a living. Too much writing (reading, eating, breathing), too little time! Kathy

Leave a Reply

